"The United Benefice of Hunstanton St. Edmund, Hunstanton St. Mary with Ringstead Parva St. Andrew,
Holme-next-the-Sea St. Mary the Virgin and Thornham All Saints,
with Brancaster St. Mary the Virgin, with Burnham Deepdale St. Mary, Ringstead St. Andrew
and Titchwell St. Mary, with Choseley" is the official name for the new, combined benefice.
Thankfully, the name "Hunstanton and Saxon Shore Benefice"
was chosen for these churches on the north west Norfolk coast.
Here are the churches in the Hunstanton and Saxon Shore Benefice
"The Count of the Saxon Shore" was the name given to the Commanding Officer of the Roman station at Brancaster. Although the "Admiral of the Wash" is Patron
of Old Hunstanton most of the Benefice is not on the Wash.
This group of eight parishes, described by one visitor as 'a string of pearls' has eight churches, each special in its own way and very attractive. You can discover more about each church using the menu above.
Ringstead Parva has been a ruin since about 1526 and can be seen from the Hunstanton to Heacham road but is not easily visited because it stands in the middle of farmed fields.
All the other churches are open for visitors between approximately 9.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m., (closed earlier in winter - usually around sunset).
Visitors are also most welcome to attend any of our services, details of which can be found on the Church Services page - they can also be found in the local Parish magazine.